Vintage Car, Snow, Amador County

Shake Ridge Road, Pioneer

Vintage Car, Snow, Amador County. Pioneer, California. March 19, 2011. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Taking photographs of a vintage car in the snow was probably the last thing I thought I would be doing on this particular March day.

I had set out with the intention of driving over to Daffodil Hill in Volcano, CA for a few hours of flower photography.  The McLaughlin family has run their pack station for miners and travelers since the late 1880’s and in their spare time planted daffodils.  Now there are 300,000 bulbs that bloom in March and April.  Unfortunately, the unusually wet/snowy winter postponed what was scheduled to be the opening day of the viewing season.  Fortunately, this was one of the rare occasions I drove my SUV that has 4-wheel drive so I continued up the hill and soon encountered falling snow.

Between having fun driving in the snow and trying to find something to photograph, I spied this unexpected scene of a vintage car in the midst of pine trees and covered in snow.  Not finding a safe place to stop, I finally found a side street 1/8 mile down and walked back to this location.  I made one giant mistake.  I only brought my 55-200mm lens and left the 18-55mm lens in the car.  This left me few options for a wide angle shot.

One final note.  In post-processing via Adobe Lightroom, greens were desaturized (is that even a word?), and the aqua color of the car was tuned up just a bit to have the car stand out.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 55mm, ISO 200, 1/100 sec, f/7.1

One thought on “Vintage Car, Snow, Amador County

Leave a Reply

