Oak Tree, Clouds, Sunset

Carbondale Road, Ione

Oak Tree, Clouds, Sunset. Ione, California. March 09, 2011. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Sometimes it is just a matter of getting out and shooting.  Even when your digital card is full of “blah” photographs, you never know if the last shot of the day is a keeper.  This shot is one of those keepers.

On some weeks I will set aside a hour or two after work to drive around the rolling scrub oak hills near where I live.  I can’t always just sit around hoping for storm clouds or a day away at a photo destination.

After over an hour of seeing potential for great sunset clouds yet not getting any decent landscape or silhouette, I took one last drive down Carbondale Road without any hope of any inspiring compositions before heading back home.  That’s when I spotted this potential shot while looking out my side view mirror.  After a quick u-turn, I parked near the entrance to a ranch, walked a bit back up the road and snapped this photo.  I would like to think I made sure I placed the sun where it ended up being, but I can’t honestly remember if I was lucky or good.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 40mm, ISO 200, 1/1250 sec, f/6.3

2 thoughts on “Oak Tree, Clouds, Sunset

  1. This shot is ridiculous! I’m really impressed with how you were able to capture enough light for this especially with such a high aperture and low ISO. Brilliant work!

    I too have days like that when the vast majority of my shots are “blah.” I love making up for it with one good shot. It typically ends up being one of the last shots I take.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

