House, Hills, Rain

Sutter Creek, CA

House, Hills, Rain.  Sutter Creek, California. April 20, 2010. © Copyright 2010 Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Taken just down the block and across the street from the “Oak Tree, Green Grass, Snow” post from yesterday.

Spring and tends to provide the best opportunities for interesting weather, cloud formations, and the like in the area I live at.  Summers are a long drawn out season of cloudless skies and hot weather with occasional thunderheads if you’re willing drive into the mountains.  Fall tends to be best spent in the Eastern Sierras.  Winters are great if you can make it into the mountains.

What caught my eye while driving home from work was how this house stood out from both the hills and the waves of rain approaching it.  Another u-turn to get back to this location and soon I was quickly snapping away just minutes before heavy rain drenched my shooting location.  It’s especially true during months like these that I keep my gear with me wherever I go.  I’ve also had situations where I didn’t have my gear and have had to either forgo taking “that” shot or attempted to go home and come back with no avail.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 150mm, ISO 800, 1/160 sec, f/6.3

2 thoughts on “House, Hills, Rain

Leave a Reply

