Dragonfly, Branch, Blue Skies

Dragonfly, Branch, Blue Skies.  Ione, California. July 22, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

I picked out a non-landscape photograph for today.  This one taken last summer in my backyard.  With the nearby ponds and grazing land, the dragon and damselflies are in abundance.

This guy was a regular visitor last summer.  Always resting on this Eastern Redbud tree and usually on this specific branch that gives it a high vantage point over my backyard.

In the week or so this dragonfly was a visitor, it would allow me to get closer and closer until I was just a bit too close, then it was hover in the air for a few seconds and land back on the branch.  It would then track my movements with little robotic tilts of its head.  Taking a closer look at the dragonfly reveals almost a slight smile on its face.  Yep, I kind of miss this dragonfly.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 55mm, ISO 200, 1/500 sec, f/8

3 thoughts on “Dragonfly, Branch, Blue Skies

    1. Thanks Brandon.

      Yep, I have the same thoughts too when I see the bug heads! I spent enough time with this dragonfly over the course of a few days to see that the smile gets a little bigger or smaller depending on how much the mouth moves.

      It was a bit like wildlife scientists. Spend enough time with a critter and it begins to trust and get used to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

