/| Oak | \

At this point, I going to admit that I’m procrastinating.  I have more or less 6 hours (shooting time) of photos to sort through and process between now and the end of the upcoming weekend.  I’m really not feeling up to it.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t get that definitive “wow” feeling from any of the photos while I was out in the field.

In the meantime, I do get to post one of my favorite oak tree photographs.  As you’ve noticed, there seems to be an inordinate amount of oaks in my portfolio.  It’s both a blessing and a curse.  A blessing in that oaks are beautiful to me because of that perfect tree shape.  Maybe that’s why the film production company “The Ladd Company” of Blade Runner and The Right Stuff fame uses the oak tree as their logo (video link here).  Anyway, it’s also a curse in that I’m somewhat addicted to photographing them when all else fails.  One day I might move away from this area and be glad I’ve taken as many photos of these trees as I have.

Thus far I’ve blogged quite a few photos from this location and from this day in particular.  This was back in the day when I was starting out and knew far less than I do now.  A hand-held, no circular polarizer, and shot in ISO 800 for some unknown reason.  For me, the composition of the fence with the oak is almost exactly how I wanted it.  The cows have grazed the bottom of the oak tree foliage to almost a perfect line.  The only problem is the tree to the right that almost looks like a rock formation, which doesn’t bother me as much as it used to.

I pass this location everyday to and from work and try and think of some way to shot this exact composition, but without the intruding tree.  From a lower vantage point, the intruding tree might go away, but the fence posts then poke into the sky area.  I think I’m “stuck” with this photo the way it is.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, pattern metering mode, 55mm, ISO 800, 1/6 sec, f/9

/| Oak |   \.  Near Ione, California. April 20, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

