YoYo, Lights, Twilight

Amador County Fair

A photo opportunity I take for granted and never fully take advantage of are fairs.  The fair in my county is not quite the throwback to the fairs in the Midwest that I either read about or saw in movies even though we still have baking contest, a huge 4-H presence, and lots of livestock contests.  It’s also not quite the modern fairs of commerce and as-seen-on-tv product booths.

Since I’m usually with a group of people and sometimes with kids, I don’t have the time to take as many photographs are I hope.  In fact, I’m rarely there by the time the sun goes down and that’s really when some of the creative photographs can take shape.

One of the only times I’ve been prepared for nighttime fair photography resulted in the photo in this blog post.  I was still just learning the basics of not only my camera, but starting to use Manual mode.  Without a tripod, this was one of 15 exposures I took of this particular composition, varying the f/stop and shutter speed to get a pleasing look of motion.  At 26mm and 1/25 sec shutter speed, I was at the very edge of what technically a normal person can handhold for sharp pictures.  The rule is shoot fast than the inverse of your focal length assuming no tripod or IS/VR feature on your lens.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 26mm, ISO 200, 1/25 sec, f/5.6

YoYo, Lights, Twilight.  Amador County Fair, Plymouth, California. July 29, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

One thought on “YoYo, Lights, Twilight

  1. Love it Steven. I think sometimes we are a bit like moths moving toward the flame. I think if I saw this I would have to try and capture it also.
    Great work handholding at 1/25 I think very few people would manage this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

