Aglianico Leaves, Clovers

Plymouth, CA

A collection of Aglianico grape leaves taken recently for a winery photo contest.  In the past, I felt uneasy putting items down deliberately as in a prepping for a still photograph, but I’ve now slightly overcome that.  The theme of the contest was the changing of the seasons and I thought the contrast of the grape leaves over the green clover cover crop would make for a nice comparison and contrast photo opportunity.

Nope.  This photo didn’t even take top three.  It’s alright.  I always go into any contest knowing the ultimate choice of “winning” photos has a little to do with the judge’s own preferences.  I only have a problem when the execution of the photograph is not up to snuff and the judge places value on the intent of the photographer.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted avg metering mode, 38mm, ISO 100, 1/8 sec, f/8

Aglianico Leaves, Clovers.  Plymouth, California. November 12, 2011. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Aglianico Leaves, Clovers

  1. Sadly, I’m sure they know more than I do. That’s why they’re on that side of the judging table, right? I also think there’s some leeway of the technical side since there is sometimes the assumption that cheaper cameras take slightly less professional looking photos. Who knows.

    Like

  2. I like this one a lot Steven, very strong composition and great colour contrast. I think it is always interesting to try and figure out what is going on in the mind of the judge. I am never surprised if I don’t place but I am sometimes amazed at what wins….

    Like

    1. Thanks Brendan. When I enter the occasional contest/show, I admit it’s nice to place 1st, but really it’s satisfying to place in the top three. At that point, judges’ have their own criteria that is impossible to predict and you know you’ve at least risen to the top (even if it’s not THE top). I recently entered a rather prestigious juried show of various media types (photos, paintings, etc.). I won’t know if I’ll be accepted until late December, but for something like that, I’ll be happy if I can get one of my photos *accepted* into the show. And I know the entrants are top-notch as I’ve seen the names of the prior years’ accepted pieces and results. It’s all a learning experience for me and will only make me a better photographer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

