Staircase, Lines, Blur

Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA

Since I’m down in Southern California for the holidays (while I’m on holiday), I’ve gone through and picked out a few more photographs from my last trip down here in September.  The was from the interior of one of the buildings in the Getty Center.  Night had already fallen so natural exterior light was no longer a source.  The interior lights were relatively bright but certainly not industrial or clinical in nature.

What I wanted to capture was the motion of people going up and down the stairs, which isn’t too difficult as long as the shutter speed isn’t too fast.  Conversely, I was handholding this camera and wasn’t afforded the use of a tripod (rules of the Getty that I read up on and knew in advance).  So using the guideline of shooting faster than the inverse of your focal length (to get relatively sharp exposures), I pumped my ISO from the standard 100 on my D7000 to ISO 200, otherwise I’d need to bring the shutter speed down to 1/15 second.  At 1/15, that’s slightly under the guideline and I might have still taken a good shot with even more blurring or the people on the stairs, but I was in a snap and go mood at the time.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted avg metering mode, 18mm, ISO 200, 1/3 sec, f/3.5

Staircase, Lines, Blur.  Getty Museum, Los Angeles, California. September 04, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

One thought on “Staircase, Lines, Blur

Leave a Reply

