Surfers, Beach, Derricks

Huntington Beach, CA

It’s not the endless summer poster, it’s not even close, but this was the shot that was available to me yesterday while taking my dog out to the Huntington Beach Dog Park.  If I had turned to the left, I would have the well-known pier as the backdrop, but the composition would be even more stereotypical.  Oil derricks are seen starting north from this point at Huntington Beach and all the way up to Santa Barbara.  There are 3 in Long Beach that are well disguised as islands.

This photograph was impromptu.  I was letting my dog rest after we had walked up and down the beach.  We were enjoying the view in front when the surfers started coming out of the water.  I hurriedly pulled my camera out, adjusted for correct exposure, and snapped a few frames.

Yes, it’s the end of December here in Southern California, I was in shorts, the temperature was in the 70s, dogs were playing in the water, and surfers were enjoying another perfect afternoon.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted avg metering mode, 55mm, ISO 200, 1/1600 sec, f/11

Surfers, Beach, Derricks.  Huntington Beach, California. December 27, 2011. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

