Stick, Lake Ice, Bubbles

Tenaya Lake, Yosemite, CA

I feel so fortunate to have been able to drive on Tioga Pass/Hwy 120 in Yosemite’s high country to Tenaya Lake this past Saturday.  While I was able to capture a few photographs, such as the one in this post, with my Nikon dSLR, quite a few photographs were shot with my Canon point-and-shoot camera.  Why?  I was ice skating for 3 hours on Tenaya Lake!

Unlike all of my photography first day trips, the primary goal on Saturday was to go ice skating.  For the folks that live in the colder parts of North America or Europe, winters spent skating on a lake or pond is likely very normal.  For someone like me that has grown up in Southern California and as recently as two weeks ago spent an afternoon at Huntington Beach in shorts and a t-shirt, this is potentially a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity in California.

In fact, I would think about coming off the ice and getting the tripod from the car, but would decide to keep skating.  I came here to skate in this beautiful environment, and darn it, I was going to keep skating until I absolutely had to leave to shoot the moonrise at Glacier Point.

The photograph here is one that I shot while trying to stand on my skates while being pushed by the gusts of wind.  I spent a good half hour skating along the ice and staring down to find interesting sheets of frozen bubbles, cracks the stretched the width of the lake, and object like sticks and tree trunks (ghost trees) that were either on or through the ice.

With the weather seemingly staying dry for at least another weekend, if you have the opportunity, grab you camera and skates and make the drive to Yosemite.  If you don’t have skates, don’t worry, grab a lawn chair and sit out on the ice!

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 46mm, ISO 100, 1/80 sec, f/8

Stick, Lake Ice, Bubbles.  Tenaya Lake, Yosemite, California. January 07, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

