Praying Mantis, Slats, Shadows

Ione, CA

I’m not sure why this praying mantis had decided to spend his New Year’s Day morning on my patio chair instead of on some nearby plants.  Maybe it thought this was a tree given the natural wood material of this chair.  Either way, I needed to make sure my dog didn’t mistake the mantis for a destructive grasshopper.

The elements of the brightly lit mantis, especially on its face, as well as the play of the chair’s wood slats and shadows caught my eye.  So after a few shots and a few more moments of being entertained with the mantis swiveling its head to follow my movements, I placed my into the safety of my garden.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 38mm, ISO 100, 1/40 sec, f/8

Praying Mantis, Slats, Shadows.  Ione, California.  January 1, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Praying Mantis, Slats, Shadows

    1. Thanks Wayne. No praying mantises/manti in the UK? I didn’t know that. Yes, they’re very interesting to observe. Different colors, they fly if they have to. I believe garden centers actually sell egg cases to have them hatch and devour the harmful critters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

