Ghost Tree, Hilltop Tree, Hills, B&W

Mokelumne Hill, CA

A lone hilltop tree is framed within the branches of a lone ghost tree in Mokelumne Hill, CA.  Here’s another photograph that was taken into Silver EFex Pro 2 for post processing.  Even with some tweaking, I’m still not satisfied with the results.  I’m not quite sure why there is a halo effect around the tree and above the hillside.  While it does create a nice effect, it’s not what I was intending to do.

With that being said, I will probably do another processing run and perhaps even crop to isolate some features I do like, such as the lower half of the tree and the dark and light shades of the hills along that line.  The second area of interest is the upper half of the tree and especially how the branches thrust into the glowing sky.  It is a bit strange how the sums of the parts do not make a photograph that I love as a whole!

The other Mokelumne-area photography posts:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 200mm, ISO 100, 1/3 sec, f/16

Ghost Tree, Hilltop Tree, Hills, B&W.  Mokelumne Hill, California.  February 11, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved. 

2 thoughts on “Ghost Tree, Hilltop Tree, Hills, B&W

  1. Creepy image. The tree at the top kind of looks like a skull to me. I just opened SEP2 to play with the controls and see what might cause a halo. Did you do anything with the soft contrast slider? If you went in the negative with it, that might be the issue. Or maybe you amplified the blacks too much and that made the halo stand out.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I do believe I did amplify the blacks and then did adjustments with the soft contrast slider. I can’t seem to remember if I went negative with the soft contrast though. I’ll have to go back and start a new process session and figure this out. Thanks for the suggestions on what may have caused the rather cool but unintended halo.

      Like

Leave a Reply

