Red Ramp, Rolling Oaks, Clouds

Martell, CA

I dug up another photograph out of the archives and reprocessed it for the 3rd time as I somehow couldn’t quite get the clouds to look “right”.  The problem isn’t really the clouds, they were great, maybe too great.  The clouds almost seem unnatural.  This processing effort had nearly the same crop as the 2nd effort, but I made sure the glow from the right was maintained on the oaks more than the previous effort.

Anyhow, this photograph was taken nearly 2 years ago on my way home from work.  I had seen this red cow ramp earlier in the week but it was a drab overcast day.  What I liked was that it definitely stood out among the swath of green covering the hillside.  On this day, the clouds were glowing, the setting sun provided a golden glow from the right, and I just had to stop and snap some shots.

And yes, this was early on in my quest to learn how to use my dSLR.  This would explain the completely random and inappropriate use of ISO 800.  At the Nikon D50’s native ISO 200, a shutter speed of 1/160 sec would have been acceptable even with this being a handheld shot.

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, 31mm, ISO 800, 1/640 sec, f/7.1

Red Ramp, Rolling Oaks, Clouds.  Martell, Amador County, California. April 05, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Red Ramp, Rolling Oaks, Clouds

    1. Thank you! I am definitely fortunate to live in an area such as this where there are so many great locations to shoot and I have the option to be picky and stop to take photos if the conditions are just right.

      Like

Leave a Reply

