Oak Trees, Golden Hour, Storm Clouds

Ione, CA

This photograph was looking northwest.  It is the structure of the storm clouds, the color of the sky, and the fence line to the right of the oaks that caught my interest.  I had not planned on shooting this late since I was already home and in comfortable clothes, so of course there’s a backstory!

After a disappointing reliance on the, yet again, unreliable weather forecasts which called for rain (100% no less) and then downgraded to showers (60%) for Marin, there drive out to the Headlands did not happen.  Since I was a bit antsy from not having shot many pictures this past week, I made it a point to drive out in the early afternoon to shoot.  With perhaps the slowest moving storm in recent memory I kept driving far enough ahead of the rain to shoot for 15-20 minutes, then having to take cover and find a new location, only to have the rain chase me down again.

Finally making it home to where it hasn’t been raining, it was only a matter of 30 minutes before the rain caught up again.  I felt like one of those cartoon characters that has a cloud following him.  About an hour later, I can see sunlight streaming through the windows while the rain is still coming down.  There has to be a rainbow.  And there surely was.  With the late afternoon sun creating a bright yellow/orange light, there was a brilliant full rainbow, with a partial double rainbow.  I grabbed my camera, then realized the long zoom lens wouldn’t work, and went back to quickly throw on the wide-angle.  By the time I got back out, all of 30 seconds later, the full rainbow was gone and so was the double.

Less an hour before sunset, the sunlight burst thorough the clouds again.  After snapping two shots, I jumped into the car chasing down the orange lit clouds.  Not making much headway as I started seeing the colors directly overhead fade, I eventually found a location where I could have a decent view of the horizon and snapped away.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 190mm, ISO 400, 1.6 sec, f/8

Oak Trees, Golden Hour, Storm Clouds.  Ione, California. March 25, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

