Wildflowers, Steel T-Posts, Pasture Grass

Plymouth, CA

Well, this ended up being a lackluster day of shooting despite the great texture (and fluffiness, yes, I said fluffiness) and variations of light on the storm clouds overhead while walking to a nearby Starbucks with co-workers around 1:30pm this afternoon.  I thought the clouds would wait until I left work about 3 hours later since it has been the slowest moving storm system I’ve seen in years.  Of course, Mother Nature waits for no one.  By the time I was ready to shoot, the clouds were flat and the sun buried behind a shapeless mass of grey.

Nothing on the drive home was inspiring either.  Thankfully, about 10 miles from home, a blanket of wildflowers caught my attention because it was surrounding a gate leading to pasture land.  It was a confluence of man and nature.  Of course, while this was going through my mind, I kept driving down the road.  It was about a quarter mile later than I realized that if I didn’t turn back and shoot now, there were 3-4 days of rain coming up.  So I ended up shooting photographs for what turned out to be exactly 30 minutes.  There were compositions of just wildflowers, poor attempts at macro photography, various shots of wooden fence posts pockmarked by woodpeckers over the years and the holes stuffed with acorns, and of course photographs of the gate and wildflowers.  The pockmarked fence posts might be decent enough to show up on the blog, but this photograph might be the only other shot to be acceptable to show.  Let’s count wildflower photography along with wildlife photography as my serious weak areas!

This photograph is shot with an aperture of f/16.  I shot another exposure at f/6.3.  I wish I had another exposure somewhere in between.  At f/6.3, the blur of the background grass was perfect, but I had focused on the steel t-post on the right, and the remaining three posts were slightly out of focus.  Maybe if I had focused on the 2nd post and bumped the aperture to f/9 or f/10, all the posts were be sufficiently in focus while keeping the background grass still blurred.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 200mm, ISO 250, 1/13 sec, f/16

Wildflowers, Steel T-Posts, Pasture Grass.  Plymouth, California. March 26, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Wildflowers, Steel T-Posts, Pasture Grass

Leave a Reply

