The Versatile Blogger Award

Over the past few months I’ve been awarded “The Versatile Blogger” award twice.  And yes, I did say months.  As many of you know, there are usually rules or guidelines.  For that close friends of mine, they know that I don’t do well with rules!  It is generally the part that requires me to say a bit about myself that makes me put off paying these awards forward for a period of time.  Yet, I really do believe that 3 months is a bit too long of a response time, so I apologize.  Anyhow, here we go!

THE RULES

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
    • The Dilapidated Farmhouse – Chronically the efforts to save and restore a 100+ year old farmhouse.
    • Abu Zar from Visual Journey – A nature and landscape photographer much after my own heart in terms of subject matter, but also well versed in street photography.
  • Add the Versatile Blogger Award pic on your blog post
  • Share 7 random things about yourself
  • Award 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading – I’m posting links of up to 15 blogs I enjoy reading.  I dislike this selection process.  I follow blogs I enjoy reading – plain and simple.  So I have done a quick run through of blogs I follow and selected blogs that stood on for one reason or another.
  • Inform the bloggers of their award – Ok, I’m not a big fan of forcing awards onto people because if you’re like me, it’ll sit for 3 months before the guilt of not addressing it within the first week of receipt becomes too much to bear – sort of. 😉 That being said, if you notice that’s I’ve linked your blog below via pingbacks/trackbacks, you’ve been informed.  Plus, some of you have already received this award and there’s no need to go through this exercise again!  But thank you for creating a blog I enjoy reading.

Seven Random Things About Myself

  • I have never been to Europe (or Africa) for that matter.  For a landscape photographer that loves the idea of traveling and even has specific places on a must-photograph list, I have not done so.  Shocking, I know.
  • While I enjoy the solitude of landscape photography and generally keep to myself, other photogs that have stopped and talked to me say I’m a great conversationalist and not snobby like so many others they meet in the field.  I guess they’re surprised I’m not stuck on talking about my gear.
  • I had never tasted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich until 2 months upon when co-workers gave me an Uncrustable to eat. How I managed to avoid one of those living in the US is really beyond me.  I mean, I like jelly sandwiches.  I tend to like peanut butter.  But why put them together?!
  • I might do a Tough Mudder event this year.  Working out in the gym for the sake of being healthy just doesn’t have that much appeal, so I don’t do it.  But if there is a goal in mind, I’m much more motivated.  Being that years ago I was a sports junkie and even ran cross country in high school, it is sad 15 years of working in corporate office environments is forcing me to need to train for something like this.
  • I own a long-haired chihuahua.  He was purchased for an ex-girlfriend.  The ex eventually left and I got to keep my pup.  It worked out for me.  On the occasions I work from home, my dog thinks I should be able to hold him all day because I’m stuck in my chair staring at my laptop.  He knows if he sits there, stares at me, and whines, I’ll eventually pick him up.
  • I collect vintage advertising lithograph posters from the 1920s-1960s with special appreciation for works from Cappiello, Dudovich, and Robys.  For a few years I was also a subscriber to Jay Ryan’s silkscreen prints.  He does posters for rock bands, events, and art prints.
  • I should probably learn how to use Photoshop.  I recently did some work creating a logo for a Historical Landmark.  I felt like a 3 year old working with an Etch-a-Sketch.

15 (or slightly less than 15) Blogs I Enjoy Reading

And I’m posting one of my favorite photographs from the last 6 months of blogging…

Fort Baker Pier
Leave a Reply

