Self-imposed “break” over…posting again soon

I’ve been off the WordPress grid for the last couple of weeks tackling some horrific flu that was going around the office the past month or so.   I’m not one that gets sick often.  Usually the worst I get is the one bad spell that takes me out for a day or two once a year.

This was probably not the best time to come down with the flu either!  The intent was to take a week off to select and potentially reprocess photographs for an upcoming competition.  So while I had just enough time to submit my entries, they were left as is without any additional post processing.  Oh well.  We’ll see if any of the entries are jury selected/accepted in mid-May.  I’d be a little disappointed if at least one photograph does not make it in.  That might be my confidence and my ignorance speaking, but I feel I’ve come a long way.  Two years ago, I couldn’t see myself entering this competition.  Last year, I felt I was close but need a few more quality shots.  It turns out it was both the improvement of my shots and the improvement of my post processing skills (though I still have some ways to go since I still don’t use Photoshop).

From here on out, I’ll average 2-3 posts a week.  The 2-year backlog of photographs allowed me to put up new posts everyday for the past 6 months, but now I’m struggling to maintain the quality I expect.  So while many not post as much, I’ll try and maintain (and keep improving) my photography and post skills.

My next post will be a slight variation from the photography-only theme.  Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Self-imposed “break” over…posting again soon

  1. Sorry to hear about your encounter with the dreaded flu bug and I hope you are on the mend. You mentioned about submitting some images for a competition, good luck and is there any chance of seeing these images in a future blog. Keep up the good work….

    Like

    1. Thanks James, the bug was definitely the worst I’ve had in a few years.

      I guess I don’t adhere to the rules many photographers go by when it comes to withholding the images being submitted for competition from being posted on a blog until after the fact. All the images I submitted (total of 9) have been posted on my blog. I suppose there is some air of mystery or monetary reason many photogs do not post their jury accepted or winning images until the competition is over. There are even some that maintain websites and show everything BUT their winning images. Weird.

      Anyhow, that gives me a good idea for a post. I’ll have to have a post showing the ones I submitted. There were a 3-4 photographs I had thought I would submit all along, but when push came to shove, they were culled from the herd.

      Like

Leave a Reply

