Turtle Doves, Power Lines, Monochrome

Sherman Island, CA

15 seconds.  I had a composition ready to go until I got into a conversation with a passerby.  Now one turtle dove is facing away from me and they are no longer snuggled up against each other.

(click through on the image to view in 700px)

Turtle Doves.  Those brown-ish doves that coo-coo-coo and sound like owls.  Yep, those are turtle doves.  The same ones in the “12 days of Christmas” song.  Since you almost always see them in pairs, I wonder what happens to the remaining dove when its mate suffers a tragic ending.  And I think this way because they seem to enjoy flying out in front of my car and just barely dodging my bumper or windshield.

Anyhow, I was ready to pack up shooting for the day and turned around to see this pair of turtle doves eyeing me from across the road.  The one on the left was slowly inching over to the other and were eventually side by side.  I was primed for a shot when a gentleman drives by asking if I would take a photo of him and his new puppy.  Who am I to deny that?  I said I had one more shot to take and I would be happy to oblige.  So about 15 seconds later, this was the one and only shot I snapped of these doves.

Processed in Nik Silver EFex Pro 2 with final adjustments in Lightroom, I do like how the light hits the dove on the left.  Maybe worthy of its own close crop photograph in the future.

Previous post from this shooting day:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 120mm, ISO 100, 1/500 sec, f/4.8

Turtle Doves, Power Lines, Monochrome.  Sherman Island, California.  November 04, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

