Berkeley City Club, Main Ballroom Doors, Monochrome

Berkeley, CA

Another post, another monochrome photograph.  Uh-oh.  Third day in a row, I fear!  And we are sticking with more architecture from the Berkeley City Club, a building designed by Julia Morgan.

Morgan was influenced by Gothic and Moorish styles for this building.  Honestly, I do not really know what Moorish architecture is though Casablanca comes to mind as does the song “Rock the Casbah“.

The photograph here is not exactly what I had in mind when setting up this shot.  The hope was for very distinct rays of light coming in from the windows.  It probably was not a technical lapse, but rather the wrong time of day, that prevented that vision from being met.  The sun was directly shining through the windows.  Maybe if the light were more diffuse (indirect sunlight or through fog).

Just from the details in this photo, there are similarities to some of the buildings at the Hearst Castle in San Simeon, which Morgan was working on at the same time.  If fact, when construction was slow at the Hearst Castle, Morgan would bring the workers, craftsman, and artisan to Berkeley to work on the City Club building.

Previous post from this shooting day:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 19mm, ISO 100, 1.3 sec, f/13

Berkeley City Club, Main Ballroom Doors, Monochrome.  Berkeley, California.  November 04, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “Berkeley City Club, Main Ballroom Doors, Monochrome

  1. beautiful composition , love the top half of the pic..the airy window breaks the sombre moody top and brightens things up.. the bottom 1 cm with the rug distracts a tiny bit. did u try hiding it to see if it loses anything significant ?

    Like

    1. Thank you. I’m pretty sure I have not tried to crop the very bottom of the photo as I was much more focused on the ceiling and door area. I actually had to physically straighten the rug (and not very well at that). To you, which particular element of the rug is distracting? I’m trying to get a sense of how you see it. Is it the entire rug or a pattern on the rug?

      I appreciate the feedback as always. 🙂

      Like

      1. the entire rug …and my opinion might have got biased by the size of the image I see too. The lines and angles at the top half give an entirely different feel and somehow the rug at the bottom breaks that continuity – to me.. as always this is my perception based on the size I viewed . HTH

        Like

        1. I see your point about the rug and it does seem out of place. For some reason I have some attachment to the baseboard on the left column. I like the baseboard. Argh. Until now, that is the main reason I didn’t crop out the rug. Weird, isn’t it?

          Like

Leave a Reply

