Bobcat, Pasture, Oak, Overcast

Amador County, CA
Amador County, CA

As if I needed confirmation I do not quite have the skills (and equipment) to be a wildlife photographer.  Granted, I was taking the opportunity to shoot landscapes in between storms but found this odd looking “cat” instead.

Amador County, CA
Amador County, CA

(click through on the images to view in 700px)

Coincidentally, I ran into a former co-worker and fellow photographer on this lonely stretch of road.  He was also out photographing landscapes when he saw a second bobcat cross the road moments before I arrived.

When I first noticed this small bobcat sitting in the field peering at me as I slowly drove by, I had the absolute incorrect lens on my camera, the 18-55mm.  In the time needed to switch to the slightly better, but still inadequate 55-200mm lens, the bobcat was slowly trotting towards my friend (and probably looking for the other bobcat).  By the way, these cats are quick!  At one point, it decided it had enough of me following in the car and took a quick sprint across the field likely reaching a speed of 30 mph.

Anyhow, the second photo is heavily cropped to zoom in on the bobcat versus the top photo which is probably an aesthetically better photo, but the animal could literally be anything!  So maybe a focal range of 400-600mm would be useful here, but I really do not see myself picking up a super long zoom lens for the off-chance I see another bobcat.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 200mm, ISO 100, 2 sec, f/5..6

Bobcat, Pasture, Oak, Overcast.  Amador County, California.  December 01, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

