Yellow Leaves, Green Moss, Pavers, Long Exposure

ISO400, 52mm, f/8, 41 sec
Ione, CA

When I least expected it, a photo opportunity appeared.  Night.  Front courtyard.  Waiting for my dog to sniff the plants and do what dogs do.  Lo and behold, fallen leaves contrasted against the bright green moss growing between the pavers.

(click through on the image to view in 700px)

In a true demonstration of economical photo taking, I grabbed my camera from the house, the tripod from the car, setup the composition, used a flashlight to temporarily illuminate the leaves to engage the autofocus, switched to manual focus, calculated the exposure settings, opened the shutter for 41 seconds (ok, I was trying for 40), checked the result, and packed all the gear away.  I had thought about taking more shots with side lighting from the flashlight, but thought otherwise quickly.  I would not recommend being as lazy as I was especially if you are out shooting somewhere far from home.  It luckily worked out for me despite my laziness!

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 55mm, ISO 100, 1/40 sec, f/11

Yellow Leaves, Green Moss, Pavers, Long Exposure.  Ione, California.  December 04, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Yellow Leaves, Green Moss, Pavers, Long Exposure

Leave a Reply

