Three Oaks, Long Exposure, Monochrome

38mm, f/8, 25 sec
El Dorado Hills, CA

Low storm clouds and fog in the hills seemed like a great combination as I headed home from work.  After driving around for 15 minutes just under the fog line scanning the shrouded oaks, still nothing.

(click through on the image to view in 700px)

With night clearly taken hold and the blue hour (well, mostly grey) fading, I pulled off the road to the entrance of a ranch and set up for a long exposure shot of these oaks I see everyday.  Though not the best of conditions and only mildly interesting when viewed on the screen, the fallback is to create a moody image in SEP2.

This photograph continues my recent trend of “efficient” photography.  Set up for the shot, take 1 snap, pack up and go.

Other recent posts with oak trees:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, 38mm, ISO 100, 25 sec, f/8

Three Oaks, Long Exposure, Monochrome.  El Dorado Hills, California.  December 05, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Three Oaks, Long Exposure, Monochrome

  1. Thank you for sharing all the camera settings i find them very useful as i always wonder what setring people are using

    Like

    1. Absolutely, you’re welcome. I haven’t done it in a while (and I probably should start again), but there are certain photog blogs I read where the exif data for the photo is included. I play a little game to see if I can guess the f/stop setting and if I’m relatively close, that’s good. It’s a fun little exercise that has helped me be a little more selective in how I shoot. It used to be where if it was a big landscape shot with distant peaks or clouds, I would automatically do something in the f/16-18 range just so everything would be sharp (in theory).

      Like

Leave a Reply

