Mt. Diablo, Sunset, Shaded Hills

Hwy 88, Amador County, CA
Hwy 88, Amador County, CA

Yes, lots of sky in this composition.  It was either show the expanse of the sky or crop to panoramic dimensions.  I chose the former.

(click through on the image to view in 700px)

It is photographs like these that show the importance of carry your camera with you as much as possible.  It is sometime a pain to remember to pack your camera bag before heading out and remembering to not leave it in the car overnight (for a variety of reasons).  This was primarily a trip to the grocery store.  If there happened to be something good to shoot to or from the store, I would be ready.  The funny thing was that even after I saw the sunset, I was contemplating whether I should stop or not.  The sun was not perfect behind the mountain, and I could not find a perfect line of sight free of tree or power lines.  At the last moment before the road dipped down into the valley, I pulled off to a small ranch road.  With the road dipping and taking the power lines down the valley with it, the line of sight was optimal.

The very first photograph of the series was difficult to process.  With the horizon and areas behind the mountain bright and with me using center weighted metering mode, there was severe chromatic aberration outlining the mountain which I could not remove in Lightroom.  Knowing the contrast was high and being more worried with metering the sky properly, I switched to spot metering.  I knew I could bring back the two shades of silhouettes (foreground trees and Mt. Diablo).

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, spot metering mode, 200mm, ISO 100, 1/20 sec, f/11

Mt. Diablo, Sunset, Shaded Hills.  Hwy 88, Amador County, California.  December 09, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

