Alcatraz, New Industries Building, Broken Panes

ISO400, 35mm, f/11, 1/8 sec
Alcatraz, San Francisco, CA

As part of our behind-the-scenes tour of Alcatraz was our visit to the New Industries building just south of the water tower.  I am a sucker for shooting photographs through broken panes of glass, notably through my posts at the Old Sugar Mill in Clarksburg.

(Click through the image for the 700px view)

Without the use of a tripod for this tour, every shot was handheld.  I have rarely shot handheld over the last 2-3.  So this shoot was a crash course refresher on composition (as I was also using a prime/fixed lens) as I needed to move my feet instead of using the zoom on a lens.  And also a refresher on proper shooting stance.  As day turned to night, I needed to minimize my movements while shooting and occasionally lean against a wall or sit on the ground to achieve a stable yet comfortable shooting stance.

Movie note:  The lower level of this building is the laundry area and is similar in appearance to the photograph here.  The area was the shooting location of the final fight scene in the movie The Rock.  The scene involves Nicolas Cage being exposed to the deadly VX gas and needed to inject himself with atropine to survive and deploy the green flares.  (Scene here)

Listing of photograph(s) from this day’s San Francisco daytrip:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, spot metering mode, manual focusISO 400, 35mm (prime lens), f/11, 1/8 sec

Alcatraz, New Industries Building, Broken Panes.  Alcatraz Island, San Francisco Bay, California.  January 26, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Alcatraz, New Industries Building, Broken Panes

    1. Thanks Melinda! The turquoise, both through the window pane and as part of the foreground frame, is what caught my eye initially. The two areas I liked while processing in post is the area to the right (reflection off the floor, red band on the pillar, and pipes in the upper right). I didn’t have the time to analyze my shots as I normally do as the guide was trying to move us along through all the really cool areas in a limited amount of time. So there are definitely elements in some photos I really only noticed in post, which is actually kinda cool.

      Like

      1. I like those red pipes also.

        I know what you mean about seeing elements in the photos during post – sometimes I think I must do some kind of out-of-body shooting to capture things I didn’t even know that I saw! We are just THAT good, right?

        Like

        1. Haha, yes, we are that good! It might a lot to do with being focused on a central element or two when we compose a photograph. Then when you’re back in front of a computer, everything is on screen that is MUCH larger than the LCD on a camera. Plus, we have the ability to draw attention to certain areas of the photo in post. But I still think we’re that good. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

