Patch of Grass, Sunlight, Shadow, Monochrome

ISO100, 32mm, f/6.3, 1/13 sec
California State Fair, Sacramento, CA

Despite all the photographs I could have taken first during my two days at the California State Fair last year, I ended shooting a patch of fresh uncut grass lit by a bit of sun at the agricultural farm area.  Strange, I know.

(Click through the image for a closer view of grass in 700px)

Compositions with heavily contrast light and dark elements tend to convert well into black and white or monochrome photographs.  Yet part of the problem, and the reason this photo has sat in the archives for the last seven months, is the overwhelming amount of green.  This is the same reason I have trouble shooting the nearby foothills in the Spring.  Everything is green, from the grass growing in the pastures to the new leaves sprouting on the oak trees.  It is green on top of more blinding green.  Beautiful to look at in person, but far too much green for my palate.  Thus the conversion to monochrome for this photo.

If I had did not know this was grass, I might have thought this photo as a  macro of animal fur or quills or even a close microscopic view of the hair on some bug.

My other posts from this year’s CA State Fair:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, patterned metering mode, ISO 100, 32mm, f/6.3, 1/13 sec

Patch of Grass, Sunlight, Shadow, Monochrome.  California State Fair, Cal Expo, Sacramento, California. July 19, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Patch of Grass, Sunlight, Shadow, Monochrome

    1. Absolutely! I usually make a bee line for the ag farm area as that’s where the farm animal nursery is located. I can’t resist checking out the little piggies, calves, goats that are only hours or days old. Plus, they have a nicely laid out rows of various vegetables, sunflowers, and grapes that I have to take pictures of.

      Like

    1. Thanks James. It’s a wonder that I’ve taken this long to do something with this photo. For the longest time I wanted to leave this as a color, but obviously I’m glad it turned out well in monochrome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

