Ione (CA), Single Tree, Sunset Lit, Rolling Hills

ISO100, 40mm, f/6.3, 1/13 sec
Ione, CA

Well, it is close to what I had envisioned while driving by at 65 mph.  While driving over the next mile, I wrestled with either turning around or trying the following afternoon as the sun was close to dipping behind the hills to the left.  I decided to not be lazy and shoot while I was still out and about.  Unfortunately, the power lines I had always thought I could somehow exclude with from a low angle were not cooperating.  I will have to scout around next time and see what can be done.  So close to perfect, but still not.

(click through on the image to view in 700px)

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 40mm, f/6.3, 1/13 sec

Ione (CA), Single Tree, Sunset Lit, Rolling Hills. Ione, California. February 23, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “Ione (CA), Single Tree, Sunset Lit, Rolling Hills

    1. Thank you!

      All the time I have those conversations! Usually it involves knowing there are not spots to safely pull the car off the road either! So do I turn around and park 1/8 mile away and walk with whatever light that caught my eye fading? 🙂

      True story about how I formally got myself into photography about 3 year ago: I used to pass a ranch twice a day to and from work. In the middle of this pasture sits a 5′ tall, 10′ long section of corrugated metal pipe/conduit (not sure why it’s there). One day, I see two cows, one on each side of the pipe, with half their bodies in the pipe, standing there. Are they in there standing face to face just looking at each other? Just a funny scene that I never captured because I was on my way to dinner and all I had was an iPhone 3 that wouldn’t have taken a good low light photo. So for the next couple of years, I kept my dSLR in my car hoping to capture the moment, but it never happened again. So it started my habit of carrying my camera in the car, snapping photos after work, and it evolved from there.

      Like

      1. I have a similar story that involves a passing thunderstorm, a huge puddle, a pink building reflected in it, and beautiful late-afternoon light. It was ages ago, and I still think about the missed shot every time I go past the building, which isn’t even pink anymore!

        The image of those cows made me laugh!

        Like

Leave a Reply

