Ione, Amador Foothills Baldwin S12 #10 Locomotive, Monochrome

ISO100, 35mm, f/1.8, 1/800 sec
Ione, CA

An uncertain future awaits the locomotive sitting just west of the Union Pacific’s Ione Train Depot.  Previously used to move wood products for Sierra Pacific Industries up the hill down to Ione, the Baldwin S12 locomotive has been mothballed here since mid-2008.

(Click through the image for the 700px view of a locomotive abstract)

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 35mm (prime lens), f/1.8, 1/800 sec

Ione, Amador Foothills Baldwin S12 #10 Locomotive, Monochrome.  Ione, California.  March 02, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “Ione, Amador Foothills Baldwin S12 #10 Locomotive, Monochrome

  1. Well, I like it. I like it because of the incorrect “its” and the F. I am sort of a pest about the correct use of “its” and “it’s” so this gave me a nice chuckle.

    And I like it because it’s different – it never hurts (too much) to try something new.

    Like

    1. Ha ha, don’t get me started on the incorrect use of it’s/its and their/there/they’re. I can’t take someone seriously if continually use those words wrong. 😉

      I am always a bit concerned about pigeonholing (yep, that’s a word since no red squiggly lines appeared under it) my photography or even being content on staying in my comfort zone. It is interesting to see what types of pictures people like though. Trees with sunsets, certain type of old building abstracts, and seascapes get the most “likes” while photo such as this barely get a whiff.

      This locomotive has been in this general area for about 2-3 years now. I always think I can take some amazing shots of it in its entirety. Alas no. So I have to resort to abstracts of train parts.

      Like

      1. I’ve noticed the same thing on my blog, where the stuff that’s NOT an old building doesn’t get the same level of attention. But I don’t want to pigeonhole myself, or get bored – so I guess I will sneak some newer ideas in with the old buildings and see what happens.

        I agree with your position re. incorrect usage of those words. It’s possible that in a past life, I was an English teacher. Probably a real mean one, that none of the kids liked…

        Like

  2. Hi, so where’s AFRR #10? Still sitting at Ione, or has it been moved? Where to?
    Many thanks for your reply
    Richard Juricic
    AMC/AFRR fan
    Buenos Aires – Argentina

    Like

    1. Hi Richard, AFRR #10 is still in Ione. At last check (about a year ago) it had been moved a few hundred yards down the track. I have heard, but not verified, that #10 might now been in a slightly better sheltered location nearby. There are plans to create a train museum about 1/4 mile away. The old depot building has already been moved to this proposed museum location.

      Like

Leave a Reply

