Latrobe (CA), Comet Pan-STARRS, Crescent Moon

ISO400, 200mm, f/5.6, 4 sec
Latrobe, CA

Be impressed the comet was captured. Be less impressed with the reality that I thought I had completely missed the comet behind the nearby clouds.

(Click through the image for 700px fuzzy comet goodness)

To say this comet is visible to the naked eye is a stretch. Even with my binoculars I could not locate it. I am going to blame the illustrations I kept seeing in the media. The comet was drawn HUGE, larger than the moon even.

I had actually given up hope of both seeing and capturing the comet this evening given that it was an hour past sunset and the cloud bank was rolling in. If it wasn’t for me seeing another local photog’s photos from the evening and the placement of the comet to the moon, I would have just left the images in the computer and processed them in a few days just for the crescent moon. Funny how it all turned out, right?

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, spot metering mode, ISO 400, 200mm, f/5.6, 4 sec

Latrobe (CA), Comet Pan-STARRS, Crescent Moon. Latrobe, California. March 12, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

