Folsom Lake, Sunset, Couple, Reflection

ISO100, 200mm, f/11, 1/160 sec
Brown’s Ravine, El Dorado Hills, CA

Well, I finally located a spot to shoot for an outstanding (as in still-to-be-filled) photography request.  This was the third attempt in the past week.  The only “problem” was the couple on this slip of land intent on watching the sun reach the horizon.  I felt a bit like a paparazzo.  There was no way to exclude them for the shot, so in the photographs they stayed.

While I may not have left with the shot I was hoping for, I had to make due with the circumstances.  10-15 minutes was about the time I had left to find another shooting location and there was no guarantee the next location would be a better composition.

I also realize this photograph is a tale of two photos.  The top and bottom halves can stand as their own compositions.  Maybe I am trying to do too much combining all these elements into one photo.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 200mm, f/11, 1/160 sec

Folsom Lake, Sunset, Couple, Reflection.  El Dorado Hills, California.  March 28, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Folsom Lake, Sunset, Couple, Reflection

    1. They certainly do. I had a split second of “Oh no!” going through my mind as I was on assignment to capture just a sunset, but I realized that scene was infinitely more rare (unless I spent time to recruit friends) than a sunset by itself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

