Sacramento County, Single Tree, Rolling Hills, Suns

ISO100, 200mm, f/8, 1/13 sec
Near Rancho Murieta, CA

I have passed by this tree dozens of times before, at times with worse light, at times with better light.  The only difference today was of me turning the car around, parking off the side of the road, and spending 10 minutes enjoying the scene.

(Click through the image for the 700px view)

Usually I am speeding along Hwy 16/Jackson Road on the way back to Amador County.  Today was different.  I was 4-5 cars behind a tractor trailer hauling construction machinery parts.  We were motoring along at 45 mph when the usual speed is 65.  The weather was fantastic, the windows were rolled down, and I had time to look at the landscape that typically flies by at a blur.  I noticed buildings and features previous unknown.  It was relaxing.

When I made the turnoff for the final 10 miles home, I passed by this familiar tree.  There were no cars behind me and the car in front was slowly pulling away.  I reverse course and parked at a makeshift turnout.  All I heard for 10 minutes were silence and short bursts of songbirds (and 3 cars driving by at 60+ mph).  But it was serene nevertheless.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 200mm, f/8, 1/13 sec

Sacramento County, Single Tree, Rolling Hills, Suns. Rancho Murieta, California. April 03, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

One thought on “Sacramento County, Single Tree, Rolling Hills, Suns

  1. Ahh, I think I know what you’re talking about. A bit tricky with the parking and finding a good vantage point. I’m usually in a pack of many cars going down the hill and never do seem to find an opportunity to pull over and snap some shots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

