Latrobe (CA), Clouds, Monochrome

ISO100, 18mm, f/8,1/250 sec
Latrobe, CA

There are those days when the clouds in the sky remind you of the “Simpsons” intro segment: perfectly spaced fluffy clouds with a blue sky backdrop.  With the sun leapfrogging behind clouds, this was a great opportunity for some high contrast compositions for possible monochrome/B&W conversion.

(Click through the image for the 700px view)

I drove back to the same location I snapped photographs of the recent comet as the location was elevated, overlooking the surrounding hills below.  Yet, as soon I was ready to shoot I was already looking directly overhead to the contrast in clouds types.

In between shots, I would just stand there and admire shadows moving across the landscape as well as the clouds overhead converge and diverge.  It does make you think: When was the last time you took 5 minutes out of your day to watch clouds?

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 18mm, f/8, 1/250 sec

Latrobe (CA), Clouds, Monochrome. Latrobe, California. April 05, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Latrobe (CA), Clouds, Monochrome

    1. Thank you Melinda. I have been doing quite a bit more of standing and taking in the scene. I know as photogs we are time conscious when out shoot because of light conditions and making sure we capture an ephemeral moment. So it is nice when I don’t rush myself and get time to look at the rolling hillside, the clouds, or even the quiet solitude of where I am at.

      Like

    1. Thank you Simon. You’re right about the clouds. When the conditions are right, I sometimes wish I had hours to shoot. Then go back home and see the variations and which photos really stand out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

