Sutter Creek (CA), Wild Grass, Lichen, Contrast

ISO100, 135mm, f/5, 1/15 sec
Amador Central, Sutter Creek, CA

A forced photography exercise I imposed for myself this afternoon.  Since I was already out and about running errands and the camera gear almost always in the car, it was an opportunity to shoot despite it being mid-afternoon with the sun shining brightly.

Stopping at the local business park, formerly part of the Amador Central Railroad, I did not have high expectation of sweeping landscapes or great compositions of oak trees.  The task was then to find contrasts, whether they come in the form of light and shadows or of bright objects against dark.

Fortunately, as I was heading back to the car I spied this vignette of bright sidelit grass against a lichen covered boulder. A few snaps and a fun little incident with a lizard (which I will discuss on another day), and I was back in the car on the way home.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 135mm, f/5, 1/15 sec

Sutter Creek (CA), Wild Grass, Lichen, Contrast. Sutter Creek, California. May 19, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Sutter Creek (CA), Wild Grass, Lichen, Contrast

    1. Thanks Melinda, this image is another reason in explaining why head seems to be on a swivel when I’m out shooting. There’s got to be something out here I can shoot! Oh there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

