Ione (CA), Dry Grass, Shadows, Sunset

ISO100, 100mm, f/4.5, 1/20 sec

I can sum up the my shooting experience for the week very quickly.  Drive out 2 miles from the house, park on the side of the road, snap shots, drive home.  One entire week and that is the extent of my photographic activity.  At least this shows the importance of having a few fallback locations in the event you absolutely need to shoot something and quick.

(Click through the image for the 700px view)

This field of what looks like a short-stemmed wheat, but it probably is not, is an area I have passed by a dozen or more times in the couple of months.  Starting with the green blades in the Spring to amber waves of something now, I have always been a little too rushed, too lazy, too name-the-excuse to stop on my way home.  The images I have envisioned were either backlit shots from a low angle or compositons during the late afternoon with sunlight hitting part of the field and creating areas of light and shadow.

In an effort to have a decent image for the week, a mad rush was made to get to this location and make a few snaps before the sun dipped behind the nearby hills. I had actually wanted to shoot from a lower vantage point, but it only compressed the depth of the grass and compressed the alternating light and shadows.  A lower vantage point also would have introduced the oak trees lining the parameter of the field and the bright sky into the composition.

Wow, that little stalk of grass on the lower right is distracting!  It reminds me of the page turn notification on an e-reader.  If I ever print this image, I will need to remember to crop that out!  For now, I will leave the image as it.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 100mm, f/4.5, 1/20 sec

ISO100, 100mm, f/4.5, 1/20 sec. Ione, California. June 02, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

