Sacramento, Parking Garage, Pay Station, Headlights

ISO100, 45mm, f/7.1, 2 sec
Downtown, Sacramento, CA

Maybe there is something alluring to this idea of street photography.  Maybe this is not street photography in the truest sense of snapping photographs of people and scenes, but it is a start.

(Click thru the image for the 700px view)

As I have mentioned in the past, I am not a volume shooter.  An hour or two shooting does not yield 100 or more pictures.  I may take an extra shot of a composition if I remember to do so.  If there is changing light involved for a landscape or nature shot, I will certainly shoot a few more.  About an hour of shooting downtown yielded maybe 15 exposures, of which a third are “duplicates” of very slight variations in either composition or aperture.

Catching sight of this parking garage ramp while wandering the streets, the initial image I had in mind was of just the ramp and the pay attendants in their stations.  In the few seconds I needed to setup the tripod, these two cars approached.  I was not pleased.  Yet, I snapped a quick shot and got out of the way.  I went back for the intended shot, but ended up partial to this image instead.

The concrete overhand and the shadow it casts below transforms this photo into an unintended letterbox format still and steered me towards converting this image to black and white, giving an overall noir feel.  I thought about adding graininess, but opted for a clear, crisp image instead.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 45mm, f/7.1, 2 sec

Sacramento, Parking Garage, Pay Station, Headlights. Downtown Sacramento, California. June 25, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

