Plymouth (CA), Driven Cellars, Winch, Gears

ISO800, 45mm, f/5.6, 1/50 sec
Driven Cellars, Plymouth, CA

Winch and gears on the property of Driven Cellars in Plymouth, CA.  This was back when they first opened the winery and all of their old cars, old farm machinery were still all over a patch of their property.  I have not been back since, but I do understand they intended to build an indoor showroom for this classic cars and machinery.

If you see the shooting date for this photograph, it is dated March or April 2010.  I have occasionally talked about how our post processing habits shift over time.  How our crop, exposure, contrast, toning, color adjustments, and everything else rarely stay the same.  The image you thought was great and “the final product” just did not look right months or years later.  Today would be years later.  The original image was quick edited in Lightroom 2 for the purpose of sticking in a Facebook album (HERE).  Maybe I liked washed out images back then?  I even shot this image in goofy ISO800.  It was daylight.  What was I thinking?  I probably was not.  The camera was probably on the “Auto” setting.

Amazingly, the first image I entered into local competition was also from this shoot.  “Drive, Drove, Driven” placed 1st and sold.  It seemed like making money doing photography was going to be cake!  Not really.

(Click thru the image for the 700px view)

About 3-1/2 years ago I decided I was going to start using the digital (dSLR) SLR camera purchased at a discount at least 5 years prior.  There was some unfounded fear I had with SLRs ever since my father gave me his hand-me-down manual Canon.  The circle thing in the middle had line up just so and there were meters to deal with.  An odd fear considering he has been into photography for forever, even my sister was shooting SLRs and developing prints herself when she was in college, and I am one that love challenges of all sorts.  It finally came together when the gal I was with at the time, liked to travel and was happy to cool her heels as I went off to shoot for 10-15 minutes ever so often.  And was even happier if she could sleep in while I went out in the early morning to shoot (as long as I brought back coffee and pastries).

EXIF data: Nikon D50, patterned metering mode, ISO 800, 45mm, f/5.6, 1/30 sec

Plymouth (CA), Driven Cellars, Winch, Gears. Latrobe, California. April 10, 2010. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

