Sacramento, Overpass/Interchange, Girders, Monochrome

ISO100, 50mm, f/8, 1/60 sec
Sacramento, CA

Lines, intersecting lines, parallel lines.  Leave it to me spend 35 minutes in a empty parking lot on a late Sunday afternoon to shoot the underside of a freeway overpass.  This location was not even the my first choice to shoot.  I was hoping to shoot more in downtown proper, but there was still too much light for the locations I had in mind.  Long story short, I ended here, a nice card-accessed parking lot with landscaping that is empty as it is only used during the weekdays.

(Click thru the image for the 700px view)

Once again, I struggled a bit with whether I should do a monochrome conversion or leave the photograph in color.  I will likely process the original photo at a later date and do compare and contrast with this photo.

Despite spending over 30 minutes at this location, I almost did not take the final 7 shots (all of which are of this composition).  I had already put away the camera and was headed back to the car when I notice this view.  I contemplate for about 10 seconds and decided to set up for these final shots.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 50mm, f/1.8, 1/60 sec

Sacramento, Overpass/Interchange, Girders, Monochrome. Sacramento, California. September 22, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Sacramento, Overpass/Interchange, Girders, Monochrome

    1. Hi James, I think monochrome was the preferable (and a slightly “more correct”) way to process this image. We will see if I feel the same once I get around to processing the original color image! The other major decision on this image was to bring out the structure underneath the bridge which dominates the top left half of the composition. I knew it would be black or nearly black when viewed directly out of camera, but I could bring most of it back in post (which I did). Doing so slightly takes away from the minimalist approach here by introducing the under-bridge structure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

