Folsom (CA), Yogurt Shelves, Monochrome

ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/2, 1/160 sec
Palladio at Broadstone, Folsom, CA

It honestly surprised me the first time I walked into a Whole Foods up here in Northern California, particularly the yogurt section.  Doors on the refrigerated displays.  Individual packages of yogurt organized in a manner reminiscent of bio specimens in the movie “Gattaca” or how I imagine a CSI lab storage would look.

Strangely, I had always imagined and assumed these displays would be perfect all the time.  It was not until I was home and viewing these images that I noticed the holes of purchased product and how not perfect things really are.

(Click thru the image for the 700px view)

It is likely all Whole Foods are similar to this one I was.  Why wouldn’t they be?  These stores are all laid out according to a formula to maximize sales.  Of course, the last time I was in a Whole Foods was around the late ’90s in the Mar Vista neighborhood near Venice Beach.  I was probably in search of some cheap 73% lean ground beef to finish off some dish I was making and walked out after realizing how expensive everything was in relation the prices I was used to at the local Ralphs supermarket.

Yet, I wonder why all stores don’t have doors for their refrigerated dairy sections.  I would think there is some significant energy savings there.  Maybe the shoppers in  “normal” stores can’t be trusted to not vandalize doors like these.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 35mm (prime lens), f/2, 1/160 sec

Folsom (CA), Yogurt Shelves, Monochrome. Folsom, CA. November 22, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

