San Francisco, Top of Coit Tower, Long Exposure, Monochrome

ISO100, 145mm, f/8, 20 sec
Telegraph Hill, San Francisco, CA

Exercise in seeing a part and not the whole.  We all want to capture the entirety of Coit Tower (or any famous building for that matter).  Our brains tell us to shoot the entire structure or no one else will recognize it.  Yet, disciplines like macro photography just would not be what it is if we captured the entire flower, for instance.

(Click thru the image for the 700px view)

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 145mm, f/8, 20 sec

San Francisco, Top of Coit Tower, Long Exposure, Monochrome. San Francisco, CA. November 10, 2013. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “San Francisco, Top of Coit Tower, Long Exposure, Monochrome

  1. I might go with that. 😉 there are certainly so bold lines and light/shadow contrast going on here. More than anything, I didn’t want another boring Coit Tower photo. Everyone else, myself included, have dozens of “standard” Coit photos. I had to find something a little different.

    Like

    1. Thank you James. I find it interesting to see the flaws at the top of the tower as this photo shows. From a distance and even from ground level, the structure is perfect looking, but it shows its character in view such as this.

      I haven’t been on as much with the holidays and gatherings with friends the last few weeks, but I hope you’ve been snapping away and continuing to create your fine art. I’ll have a backlog of blog posts to read! Have a great rest of the week!

      Like

    1. Thank you. Though I have not seen a movie or TV with someone hiding up in Coit, I wouldn’t doubt it. I have seen so many SF landmarks in movies/TV that even if I haven’t see it, it has probably happened. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

