Folsom (CA), Crepuscular Rays, Illuminated Lake, Rough Edit

ISO100, 72mm, f/20, 1/25 sec
Mormon Island, Folsom Lake, CA

This photograph perfectly illustrates my indecisiveness with both shooting and processing this particular image.  As you may notice, I do not like to include people in my photos and I intended to crop them out of the final edit.  The other problem is I actually like the texture of the lake even though I prefer a glassy surface for reflections.

What I will probably end up doing is cropping out the bottom 1/3 of this image and maybe even the top 1/8.  Then I will decide if a standard photo ratio will work or if I will end up with a square crop.

In case you are wondering, Crepuscular Rays are what most people call God’s Rays.  It is when lines of light emanate from a single point of light, whether through clouds, windows, through trees, or something similar.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO 100, 72mm, f/20, 1/25 sec

Folsom (CA), Crepuscular Rays, Illuminated Lake, Rough Edit. Folsom Lake, CA. January 11, 2014. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

