Point Reyes (CA), Farmhouse, Layered Hills, Waves, Monochrome

ISO250, 175mm, f/13, 1/80 sec
View from the Point Reyes Lighthouse

After a 3 week hiatus of shooting and blogging, I am slowly getting back into the flow.  All it took was a 2-hour drive to Marin in the middle of the night!  Thanks for bearing with me.  I will continue to write posts with no photos on various topics every few days.

(Click thru the image for a slightly larger view)

As we know, landscape photographs tend to look rather horrid in the middle of the day.  The bright sunlight washes out details, removes shadows and shading, and reminds me of bad vacation photos I have taken over the years.  The documentary approach to taking a snapshot of everything I see so I can post on Instagram, Facebook, or whatnot results in hastily composed, the-ocean-is-tilted-and-draining-to-the-right, and way too many elements crammed into a photograph.

Yet there are times when we are saved from bad light.  Sometimes there is fog in the distance providing beautifully layered hills.  I do have it in my mind to re-crop this image or a similar horizontal I shot to include only the hills and sky and omit the white water entirely.  Another edit for another day.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO 250, 175mm, f/13, 1/80 sec

Point Reyes (CA), Farmhouse, Layered Hills, Waves, Monochrome. Point Reyes, CA. February 17, 2014. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

