Sacramento (CA), Vintage Winged Radiator Cap, Shallow DOF, Monochrome

ISO400, 35mm (prime lens), f/1.8, 1/60 sec
California Automobile Museum, Sacramento, CA

The power of photographs.  Over time memories fade, become biased, and are generally inaccurate.  Yet somehow, with a photograph in hand, the mind is triggered to remember details it might otherwise forget.  We are transported back to the moment.  What might otherwise be completely forgotten is etched.

I tend to stand on a soapbox from time to time advocating for photographers to take a moment and enjoy the where you are and what you see.  Do not be stuck behind that viewfinder or staring at the camera phone screen rather than taking in the actual scene in front of you.  And for the most part, I do follow my own advice.  The only hitch is I sometimes get into the habit of taking a photograph with both my dSLR and my camera phone!  Why, you ask?  I spend more time looking back at our outings and adventures through my camera phone photos than on my home workstation (which is where my dSLR photos are stored).

As for this photograph and remember where in the automobile museum we were, the sense of amazement we had looking at the row of vintage cars, and even the specific details that caught our eye.  So I can understand folks that snap away at everything, but still remember to look beyond the viewfinder or screen and enjoy the moment.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO400, 35mm (prime lens), f/1.8, 1/60 sec

Sacramento (CA), Vintage Winged Radiator Cap, Shallow DOF, Monochrome.  Sacramento, CA. February 07, 2015. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

