ISO100, 102mm, f/9, 1/400 sec - 5 image panorama

Bishop (CA), Buttermilks, Backlit Layers, Panorama

ISO100, 102mm, f/9, 1/400 sec - 5 image panorama
Bishop (CA), Buttermilks, Backlit Layers, Panorama

(Note: Full-sized panorama best viewed >>HERE<< on Flickr)

There are vacations and then there are vacations, even if there was a bout of altitude sickness sprinkled in.  While I could be talking about an escape to a tropic locale, which would be great, that is just not my style at the moment.  Throw me out into the Eastern Sierra for a few days with a camera and I am as excited as I can be.  The fun is exploring and occasionally taking a few minutes to capture a scene because that moment is worth capturing and conveys a feeling not only to me, but hopefully to anyone else that sees the photograph.  I am excited about having a general location checklist in mind, but stopping whenever something catches my eye or parking off the road and wandering into the meadows or woods for a couple of hours hoping I’m not trespassing.

Though that does remind me I may have missed the Fall Colors this year after the big storm blew through Northern California (and Oregon) this past weekend.  That is ok though.  Granted, a long time ago, I had hoped to capture my own North Lake shot.  I have heard enough stories where 30 other photographers are crammed in a 60 square foot location waiting on the sunrise while cursing the fisherman in waders disrupting the glassy surface of the lake.

Today’s photograph is from the same stop we made to shoot: Bishop (CA), Lone Tree, Basin Mountain, Layered Peaks.  The single shot was taken first.  Then, on a whim, I decided to take a 5 image panorama just in case I ever wanted to have it in the future.  That future is now, nearly two years later, while going though “old” photographs in the digital catalog.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 102mm, f/9, 1/400 sec – 5 image panorama

Bishop (CA), Buttermilks, Backlit Layers, Panorama.  Bishop Creek Basin near Buttermilks, CA. October 16, 2014. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

