ISO100, 55mm, f/11, 1/6 sec

Clarksburg (CA), Divergent Pipes, Distant Windows

 

ISO100, 55mm, f/11, 1/6 sec
Clarksburg (CA), Divergent Pipes, Distant Windows

 

There is a certain dichotomy in the types of photography I focus on.  On one hand there is landscape photography, which takes me into nature – usually out there are open spaces.  On the other hand, there is architectural (and more often industrial) photography, which takes me into the closed spaces such as a building or surrounded by building in a concrete jungle.

I do not have a preference of one type over the other, yet it is seemingly easier to find and get to landscape locations where I live.  It is likely the opposite for other photographers.  Regardless, as I have progressed in my photography, what I am aware of and strive to do is find an original composition, especially in a well-known location.  I believe that is a challenge for any seasoned photog.  We are all looking for something different over the next hill, from a different angle, in a sketchy old building.

I ask myself, if I take that same composition as everyone else does (and I do from time to time because an iconic shot is an iconic shot), can I really claim any originality by standing on the shoulders of those before me?  I may be able to if there are extraordinary clouds, light, weather, or stars that sets it apart from the usual.

 

My previous Old Sugar Mill photograph from a couple of posts ago:

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 55mm, f/11, 1/6 sec

Clarksburg (CA), Divergent Pipes, Distant Windows.  Old Sugar Mill, Clarksburg, CA. August 25, 2012. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

