ISO100, 55mm, f/13, 1/50 sec

Mammoth Lakes (CA), Lake Crowley, Dirt Road, Yellow Brush

ISO100, 55mm, f/13, 1/50 sec
Mammoth Lakes (CA), Lake Crowley, Dirt Road, Yellow Brush

 

There are times when the landscape in front of me is so impressive/inspiring/grand/fill-in-the-blank there is an immediate need to capture it.  If I am in a car, that means stopping the car and setting up the camera with a wide-angle lens.  The hope is to capture EVERYTHING – all in one composition.  How can anyone else gain the same perspective of what I am seeing it they can’t take it all in at once?  At least that is the thought going through my head.  The original composition extended to the left (the start of the Owens River Gorge) and to the top (a section of Sierra Nevada peaks).  Once again, as I have noted in previous posts, at times we try and cram too many elements into a photograph, so much so that there too many focal points result in a “cluttered” composition.  The end result, at least from the post processing crop this photo, is what we see here.

In terms of all the other aspects of post processing, this was a difficult image.  Most of the time was spent with the entire uncropped image, trying to balance the vivid yellow and blue in the bottom half against the contrasting light and shadow throughout the mountains in the upper half (now cropped out).  I went between the initial color edits, then worked on monochrome edits in Silver EFex 2.  In the end, I went back to color and focused on the bright yellows leading into the blues of the lake.  The colors contrast well and pop.  And while I did not see this while standing there, the road and lake form the shape of an egret or crane’s neck and head.  At least it does to me now.

This was also the first photography road trip where I brought along my little dog Tokala.  I figured if I car camped a night and he was along for the ride, I would not need to rush back home.  Sure it makes for a decidedly slower pace while walking to and from a location – especially if I end up carrying him due to the terrain and his increasing advanced age.  But I would rather slow down and have him with me rather than the alternative of leaving him home alone.  As seen here, as long as I am nearby and he has his bed, he will happily doze off.

Tokala: Mammoth Lakes (CA), Lake Crowley, Dirt Road, Yellow Brush
Tokala: Mammoth Lakes (CA), Lake Crowley, Dirt Road, Yellow Brush

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 55mm, f/13, 1/50 sec

Tokala photo: Nexus 5X cell phone, ISO61, 4.67mm, f/2, 1/2762 sec

Mammoth Lakes (CA), Lake Crowley, Dirt Road, Yellow Brush.  Lake Crowley, Mammoth Lakes, CA. November 12, 2016. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

