ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.5, 1/400 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Aspen Trunk, Shallow DOF, Mottled Background

ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.5, 1/400 sec
Cameron Park (CA), Aspen Trunk, Shallow DOF, Mottled Background

 

 

Photography for me is much like any other skill.  If I am not shooting on a regular basis, my ability to see the composition is not as sharp as it should be.  This skill (or lack thereof) manifests itself as a sense of confidence.  What that means is, when I am confident in my photography I feel as though I can be put in front of any scene or subject, no matter how drab or uninteresting, and be able to produce workable images that can result in a good or great final product.  I am certainly not saying the good or great photographs always happen.  But I am more likely to stay at a location longer and work different angles on multiple points of interest.  That results in the possibility of more good or great photographs in the end.

One of the ways I stay sharp, but I should do more of, is take some time in the garden and hone those skills.  I do not always have the time a photography day trip.  Fortunately for me, in my garden there are mature trees and various plants to photograph.  This particular session was to experiment with the 35mm prime/fixed lens to see how various depths of focus (by adjusting the f/stop) would look and what were the backgrounds I had available to work with.  This session was a precursor to an idea that was suggested to me to create a 3-panel art display (triptych) of tree bark from the yard as a decoration for the interior of the house.  The three subject trees are a redwood, an aspen, and a ginkgo tree.

I hand held the series of photos and quickly learned that with such a shallow depth of focus, not using a tripod resulted in quite a few images where the focal point was no longer correct because I had shifted ever so slightly.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.5, 1/400 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Aspen Trunk, Shallow DOF, Mottled Background.  Cameron Park, CA. March 06, 2016. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Cameron Park (CA), Aspen Trunk, Shallow DOF, Mottled Background

  1. I can relate to your post here Steven ! Great as you say to have subject matter such as your garden trees to work with . Love this shallow DOF. Can’t remember how many times I’ve push hand held to the limit and came away disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Poppy. I have had more than my share of garden images turn out not quite right due to hand held shots! They range from the straight slightly blurred images to wondering how the focus point wandered off so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

