ISO100, 38mm, f/8, 1/20 sec

Folsom (CA), Crepuscular Rays in Rain, Illuminated Lake, Pano Crop

ISO100, 38mm, f/8, 1/20 sec
Folsom (CA), Crepuscular Rays in Rain, Illuminated Lake

Two roads diverged in a wood on a freeway offramp, and I—
I took the one less traveled by that had me standing in pouring rain and some hail

One of the goals in photography is to capture the scene as you see or experience it.  Even though the photograph may help us retain memories, we do not always capture the true essence of the moment.  I suppose with more experience behind the camera and in front of the computer performing post processing, we are close more often than not.

I am not sure I captured the amazing scene in front of me.  If I had my choice, I would have switched out for a longer zoom lens.  As it was pouring at this time (see the sheets of rain at the top of the image?), I thought it best not to expose the innards of my camera to the elements again.  With a long lens I could have taken multiple panoramic exposures and stitched them up into a true panorama where the image details would be sharper even when zoomed in.  Sometimes we will take the shots with whatever camera gear is available to us and hope for the best.

Processing Notes: Very little in post processing (decreased contrast, highlights; increased whites, clarity).  The big decisions was on how to crop.  There is more foreground in the original composition as I wanted more of the wide-angle view of the far shoreline to capture the burst of light from the left and the extension of the rays all the way to the right (where it illuminate the lake surface).  The aspect ratio for this crop is 32 x 13.5 (or 3.2 x 1.35).  Many of my photographs use a 16×9 ratio to provide a widescreen effect.  At the 32×13.5 ratio, I can essentially doubling the width and increasing the height 50%.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 38mm, f/8, 1/20 sec

Folsom (CA), Crepuscular Rays in Rain, Illuminated Lake, Pano Crop.  Folsom, CA. January 24, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

