ISO100, 55mm, f/9, 1/8 sec

Rancho Cordova (CA), Water Release, Churn, Row of Stairs, Monochrome

ISO100, 55mm, f/9, 1/8 sec
Rancho Cordova (CA), Water Release, Churn, Row of Stairs, Monochrome

If you are feeling a crink in your neck from viewing this photograph, I apologize.  I understand your pain as I kept turning my neck sideways while processing the image.  There is a method to this angled madness.  At least in my mind there was when I took this shot.

The element of interest to me while standing next to the dam is the vanishing point created by the multiple stairways, the concrete “legs” of the dam interspersed with the spray from the water, and the line created by the churning water.  All of these piece diminish to the top left corner.  So while not exactly a vanishing point, this is a diminishing point (which is not really a phase as I just made it up).  A traditional portrait or landscape oriented composition does not focus on this “diminishing point” as I would like.  I have tried.  I shot in both portrait and landscape orientations.  The focus on this point is not as striking as it is here.  Thus, I apologize for the crink your neck, but it was necessary for this photograph.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 55mm, f/9, 1/8 sec

Rancho Cordova (CA), Water Release, Churn, Row of Stairs, Monochrome.  Nimbus Dam, American River, Rancho Cordova, CA. January 07, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

One thought on “Rancho Cordova (CA), Water Release, Churn, Row of Stairs, Monochrome

Leave a Reply

