ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/5.6, 1/1600 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Storm Clouds, Sunlight, Pano Crop, Monochrome

ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/5.6, 1/1600 sec
Cameron Park (CA), Storm Clouds, Sunlight, Pano Crop, Monochrome

Thankfully photo opportunities are available if I look out the big kitchen windows… and have either rapid-fire reflexes to find my camera gear or a little bit of patience if the shot goes away after I find the gear.  I have really only been out to shooting photographs once these past 7-10 days as the storms break for a day or so.  I try and take advantage of these little photo ops when I can even if it means tripping the shutter once or twice every few days. Between shooting out the back window and animals or trees in the backyard garden, I usually have enough images (and camera time) to tide me over until the next “real” photo excursion.

Shooting & Processing Notes: One of the problems with shooting out the back window is the reflection of the walls or counters in the window and the possibility of including other items I just don’t want in the final photograph.  The selection of the 35mm fixed lens here prevented me from being able to zoom in on the clouds and exclude unwanted elements.

This all results in a need to do a panorama crop in Lightroom to remove window frames, tree branches creeping in from the bottom of the image, and some window glare.  While I originally had no intention of bringing this image into Silver EFex Pro 2 for B&W/monochrome editing, I did so because the app gives me more greater ability to make small but important adjustments to contrast and structure.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/5.6, 1/1600 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Storm Clouds, Sunlight, Pano Crop, Monochrome. Febraury 03, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

