ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/14, 2 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Aeonium, Center Detail, Split Tone

ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/14, 2 sec
Cameron Park (CA), Aeonium, Center Detail, Split Tone

Photograph the early blooming bulbs.  There should be some easy compositions I said to myself.  Not really.  Between moving drip irrigation lines and not finding a good point of view to see the face of the flowers, it was time to find something else to photograph.  By the way, this reminds me of how difficult it is to capture really good Calla Lily shots without cutting the flower and taking it into a controlled setting.

Of course the advantage of having a variety of plants in the garden is that there are options if idea #1 fails.  The next option is of close-ups on the Aeonium succulents nearby.  With the spread of these leaves at 7-8″, isolating the plant into a composition is much easier than clusters of 2″ flowers.

Processing Notes: The actual color of the Aeonium is light to medium green with red/purple edges.  My personal trend right now is to stay away from photographs with an overload of green if there a few or no other colors within the image.  This image certainly would qualify as green overload.  To achieve this monochrome-like final photograph, a split-tone of light violet was applied to the highlights (primarily green portions) while a chalky faded red was the shadows.  The split-toning was done entirely in Lightroom rather than Silver EFex Pro.  There was not a reason why I choose Lightroom here except that I was playing with the toning in Lightroom to start and liked the image achieved there.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, spot metering mode, ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/14, 2 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Aeonium, Center Detail, Split Tone.  Cameron Park, CA. February 23, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Cameron Park (CA), Aeonium, Center Detail, Split Tone

  1. Stunning shot Steven. I really enjoy reading your processing notes. I was in the San Francisco area earlier this month (I’m in NJ) visiting family. I brought back a cutting of an Aeonium plant from my sister’s garden. I hope that cutting develops roots.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mar! I’m glad you enjoy reading the notes.

      I hope you enjoyed your time with family out here in SF. The weather has not been the best out here recently, but we certainly need the snowpack in the Sierra.

      I read Aeonium propagation is very easy from cuttings. I had a Aeonium rosette with stem fall off after high wind a few months ago. I stuck it in another pot and it’s doing great. Good luck with yours!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

