ISO400, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.8, 1/50 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Single Daffodil, Shallow DOF, Monochrome

ISO400, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.8, 1/50 sec
Cameron Park (CA), Single Daffodil, Shallow DOF, Monochrome

A vast landscape of flowers sounds like an excellent idea for a photograph.  “Sounds like” being the important phrase here.  When I find myself standing in front of a hillside or shoreline full of flowers, I find myself attempting to get close and capture details of a single flower rather than shoot wide-angle landscapes.  I have been living in the Sierra foothills for over a decade now.  Yet hillsides of poppies or lupines blanketing the shores of Folsom Lake are not drawing my camera’s attention.  Do I love the sight of all these flowers?  Absolutely!  Maybe I happen to be in these areas in the middle of the day with the harsh light and my brain tells me to enjoy the scene and not worry about the photos.  If I sit among the flowers long enough, my attention is drawn to the minute details of individual flowers.  The approach is similar to how I capture details of tree bark or moss and lichen on rocks.  I want to capture the details most people overlook or do not look long enough to see.

Shooting Notes: A single yellow daffodil shot late in the afternoon shade.  With flowers, shutter speed tends to be important when you are not in a controlled environment such as a greenhouse or indoors.  There will always seem to be a breeze that moves the flower just enough.  Here, the ISO was bumped up from 100 to 400, and the aperture opened up to 2.8.  This allows the shutter speed to be at 1/50 sec and more than faster enough for this particular shot.  Of course, if there is a bigger breeze/flower movement, a higher ISO and/or larger aperture (if possible) can be used shoot at an even faster shutter speed.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO400, 35mm (prime lens), f/2.8, 1/50 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Single Daffodil, Shallow DOF, Monochrome.  Cameron Park, CA. March 01, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

